Buddhism: The Four Noble Truths

We're all going to die, but we have the opportunity to choose how we'll have left the world in better shape.

Buddhism: The Four Noble Truths

Our habits of thinking and acting like we are permanent, distinct selves, cause us to be ignorant or unaware of our true nature. And, therefore, we suffer because we crave, avoid, and have aversions. 

The Buddha recognized these realities and taught the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path as a practice to help us gradually understand and embrace our true nature, so that we might stop suffering and be happy.

 The  Four Noble Truths:

  1. Suffering exists
  2. We cause our own suffering (through our ignorance of our true nature)
  3. We can stop causing our own suffering
  4. There is a path for ending our suffering (The Noble Eightfold Path)