Career, Jobs, and Vocation

Ted Talks https://www.ted.com/talks Podcasts: Radio Lab https://www.npr.org/podcasts/452538884/radiolab TED Radio Hour https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510298/ted-radio-hour Oprah's Super Soul Conversations http://www.supersoul.tv/ The Tim Ferriss Show https://tim.blog/podcast/ Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders https://ecorner.stanford.edu/series/etl/ The Creative Exchange https://thecreativeexchange.simplecast.fm/ The Knowledge Project https://fs.blog/the-knowledge-project/ How to Be Awesome at Your Job https://awesomeatyourjob.com/podcast/ On Being https://onbeing.org/series/podcast/ Fresh Air https://www.npr.org/podcasts/381444908/fresh-air Coursera https://www.coursera.org/ HBR https://hbr.org/ Fast Company - Leadership Section https://www.fastcompany.com/leadership Forbes https://www.forbes.com/#56668b0d2254 ...

As I hit a "milestone" birthday this weekend, I find myself grateful for the journey so far and excited about the possibilities going forward. There's a lot of things I would do differently if I could regarding people, circumstances, and key choices. But I've learned and...

One of my core values is striving to coach and equip people in a way that helps them to thrive, reaching and exceeding their personal and professional goals and discovering new ones along the way. I spend most of my time at work coaching people...

One of my core values is striving to take good care of people and resources that are entrusted to me. I can think of many examples falling within both of these categories, but today I'm reflecting on the customers I work with in a career...

I'm reading the book Chasing Relevance, which is focused on ways to more fully engage the Millennial generation. There's plenty of important takeaways in this book that I'll probably write about another time, but the other day I was struck by a small section on...

As we progress in our careers and work with all kinds of people, it's easy to fall into the trap of believing there's just one or two areas of strength that are the most important--and that everyone should strive to develop these in order to...

Recently, while on a flight from Nashville to Seattle I jotted down my first "bucket list," at first through stream-of-consciousness and then refined and narrowed it to the best of the best before texting it to a few close loved ones. I want to get...

I conclude this blog series on "doing what matters most" by emphasizing the importance of maintaining wellness across four key spheres of living: physical, intellectual, emotional, and spiritual. I've been blogging about these spheres for more than five years, and describe them at length in my...

The next crucial step to executing "what matters the most" is protecting the most valuable activities on your calendar. Good intentions and thinking through potential challenges and outcomes are just what gets you to the starting gate. Execution and the capacity to win the race happen...

What potential hindrances might get in the way of accomplishing what matters the most to you? It can feel very motivating and encouraging to clarify what you want the most, think through the most valued roles that you play during this season, and establish some meaningful,...