Strategy and Innovation

9 Tips and Advice for Other Writers Read! Read with breadth and depth - Stephen King calls reading "the creative center of a writer's life" Write every day, even if it’s just in your personal journal. Daily prose evolves into prolific prose. Allow your ideas...

Ted Talks https://www.ted.com/talks Podcasts: Radio Lab https://www.npr.org/podcasts/452538884/radiolab TED Radio Hour https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510298/ted-radio-hour Oprah's Super Soul Conversations http://www.supersoul.tv/ The Tim Ferriss Show https://tim.blog/podcast/ Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders https://ecorner.stanford.edu/series/etl/ The Creative Exchange https://thecreativeexchange.simplecast.fm/ The Knowledge Project https://fs.blog/the-knowledge-project/ How to Be Awesome at Your Job https://awesomeatyourjob.com/podcast/ On Being https://onbeing.org/series/podcast/ Fresh Air https://www.npr.org/podcasts/381444908/fresh-air Coursera https://www.coursera.org/ HBR https://hbr.org/ Fast Company - Leadership Section https://www.fastcompany.com/leadership Forbes https://www.forbes.com/#56668b0d2254 ...

As I hit a "milestone" birthday this weekend, I find myself grateful for the journey so far and excited about the possibilities going forward. There's a lot of things I would do differently if I could regarding people, circumstances, and key choices. But I've learned and...

Another one of my core values is learning as much as I can across disciplines, cultures, and geographies. And one of the chief ways I do that is through reading. I've read hundreds of books across my lifetime, spanning fiction and non-fiction, and have given away...

I'm back in the routine of taking early morning walks. They're not very long, but they don't need to be. They're usually technology-free; just me, walking outside and looking around and trying to practice mindfulness activities such as focusing on my breathing and paying attention...

As we progress in our careers and work with all kinds of people, it's easy to fall into the trap of believing there's just one or two areas of strength that are the most important--and that everyone should strive to develop these in order to...

Critical Thinking is the disciplined art of ensuring that you use the best thinking you are capable of in any set of circumstances. Emotional Intelligence is the ability to recognize, understand and manage our own emotions, while recognizing, understanding, and influencing the emotions of others....

The late Great Gatsby author F. Scott Fitzgerald is known for saying, "The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposed ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function." Fitzgerald is far from the only famous...

The societal backdrop for the 2016 Election can be described from many vantage points, and most of these are better explained by other writers. One observation I will declare, however, is that the dialog permeating Decision '16 is anything but a manifestation of Dr. Martin...

I conclude this blog series on "doing what matters most" by emphasizing the importance of maintaining wellness across four key spheres of living: physical, intellectual, emotional, and spiritual. I've been blogging about these spheres for more than five years, and describe them at length in my...