Blog

I’ve written and self-published six books since 2011. And while self-publishing is a constant learning journey, here are some tips based on my experiences and observations to date: Don’t invest a lot of time exploring self-publishing until you have a finished product that has been revised...

I love to read books, and if you're here you probably do as well. I find that most voracious readers enjoy getting recommendations from other readers. I'm asked quite often about my favorite books, and so I thought it would be helpful to list them...

Yesterday morning, I listened to The Paris Review podcast and heard LeVar Burton recreate a 1984 speech by the late writer James Baldwin. I was walking through my neighborhood and had to stop a few times to enter quotes into the Evernote app on my iPhone: "An...

Ted Talks https://www.ted.com/talks Podcasts: Radio Lab https://www.npr.org/podcasts/452538884/radiolab TED Radio Hour https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510298/ted-radio-hour Oprah's Super Soul Conversations http://www.supersoul.tv/ The Tim Ferriss Show https://tim.blog/podcast/ Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders https://ecorner.stanford.edu/series/etl/ The Creative Exchange https://thecreativeexchange.simplecast.fm/ The Knowledge Project https://fs.blog/the-knowledge-project/ How to Be Awesome at Your Job https://awesomeatyourjob.com/podcast/ On Being https://onbeing.org/series/podcast/ Fresh Air https://www.npr.org/podcasts/381444908/fresh-air Coursera https://www.coursera.org/ HBR https://hbr.org/ Fast Company - Leadership Section https://www.fastcompany.com/leadership Forbes https://www.forbes.com/#56668b0d2254 ...

Last night's Paul Simon concert in Nashville was one of the best I've ever attended. And it wasn't just Simon's beautiful singing, surprising energy, and creative approaches to tunes long-familiar and recent. Even more so, it was the amazing band that Simon generously allowed to shine...

There are several Native American holidays celebrated throughout the calendar year. This Thursday, June 21, is the traditional day for the Inti Raymi Festival, coinciding with the winter solstice and the Native celebration of the sun as a life-giving power. Read here to learn more...

Today is Juneteenth. Take some time to reflect on the importance of this date, and what it means to each person who happens to reside in the United States. Like it or not, we have a unique, tragic history that is completely intertwined with the...

Interesting article regarding possible connections between the opioid crisis and workforce participation. It’s vital that we do a better job helping those who suffer to get the emotional and medical support they truly need, for sustainable recovery and resumption of a meaningful life....

Just another egregious example of our nation slouching closer and closer to theocracy: The U.S. Attorney General’s use of a Biblical passage to justify separating immigrant children from their parents. Even Jeff Sessions’ denomination, The United Methodist Church, condemned his behavior. Public policy “proof texting” from...