Resilience & Change

Ted Talks https://www.ted.com/talks Podcasts: Radio Lab https://www.npr.org/podcasts/452538884/radiolab TED Radio Hour https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510298/ted-radio-hour Oprah's Super Soul Conversations http://www.supersoul.tv/ The Tim Ferriss Show https://tim.blog/podcast/ Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders https://ecorner.stanford.edu/series/etl/ The Creative Exchange https://thecreativeexchange.simplecast.fm/ The Knowledge Project https://fs.blog/the-knowledge-project/ How to Be Awesome at Your Job https://awesomeatyourjob.com/podcast/ On Being https://onbeing.org/series/podcast/ Fresh Air https://www.npr.org/podcasts/381444908/fresh-air Coursera https://www.coursera.org/ HBR https://hbr.org/ Fast Company - Leadership Section https://www.fastcompany.com/leadership Forbes https://www.forbes.com/#56668b0d2254 ...

Interesting article regarding possible connections between the opioid crisis and workforce participation. It’s vital that we do a better job helping those who suffer to get the emotional and medical support they truly need, for sustainable recovery and resumption of a meaningful life....

For me, a white male of privilege, yesterday was a tipping point when a subconscious perception became an obvious truth: career development is a human rights issue. Please allow me to elaborate. My life is dedicated to helping others gain the awareness, resources, and guidance needed to...

As I hit a "milestone" birthday this weekend, I find myself grateful for the journey so far and excited about the possibilities going forward. There's a lot of things I would do differently if I could regarding people, circumstances, and key choices. But I've learned and...

Zappos founder Tony Hsieh has a cool approach toward creating a work culture of sustainable happiness. His approach examines three forms of happiness: 1. Pleasure 2. Passion, or "flow" 3. Higher purpose, or values Hsieh advises that pleasure is the rarest form of happiness, and should be acknowledged and...

I am the prototypical white, privileged, straight male. I was raised in a middle class home, and though my parents were far from wealthy I was sent to college and they paid for all of it. I moved into the professional work force, and eventually...

I'm reading the book Chasing Relevance, which is focused on ways to more fully engage the Millennial generation. There's plenty of important takeaways in this book that I'll probably write about another time, but the other day I was struck by a small section on...

Critical Thinking is the disciplined art of ensuring that you use the best thinking you are capable of in any set of circumstances. Emotional Intelligence is the ability to recognize, understand and manage our own emotions, while recognizing, understanding, and influencing the emotions of others....

The societal backdrop for the 2016 Election can be described from many vantage points, and most of these are better explained by other writers. One observation I will declare, however, is that the dialog permeating Decision '16 is anything but a manifestation of Dr. Martin...

I conclude this blog series on "doing what matters most" by emphasizing the importance of maintaining wellness across four key spheres of living: physical, intellectual, emotional, and spiritual. I've been blogging about these spheres for more than five years, and describe them at length in my...