Learning

9 Tips and Advice for Other Writers Read! Read with breadth and depth - Stephen King calls reading "the creative center of a writer's life" Write every day, even if it’s just in your personal journal. Daily prose evolves into prolific prose. Allow your ideas...

This fall, as the leaves change colors and eventually drop to the earth, I encourage you to spend some leisure time with three titles I’ve enjoyed reading in recent months.  Reading the Silver Screen In his new book, Thomas Foster, author of How to Read...

I’ve written and self-published six books since 2011. And while self-publishing is a constant learning journey, here are some tips based on my experiences and observations to date: Don’t invest a lot of time exploring self-publishing until you have a finished product that has been revised...

Ted Talks https://www.ted.com/talks Podcasts: Radio Lab https://www.npr.org/podcasts/452538884/radiolab TED Radio Hour https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510298/ted-radio-hour Oprah's Super Soul Conversations http://www.supersoul.tv/ The Tim Ferriss Show https://tim.blog/podcast/ Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders https://ecorner.stanford.edu/series/etl/ The Creative Exchange https://thecreativeexchange.simplecast.fm/ The Knowledge Project https://fs.blog/the-knowledge-project/ How to Be Awesome at Your Job https://awesomeatyourjob.com/podcast/ On Being https://onbeing.org/series/podcast/ Fresh Air https://www.npr.org/podcasts/381444908/fresh-air Coursera https://www.coursera.org/ HBR https://hbr.org/ Fast Company - Leadership Section https://www.fastcompany.com/leadership Forbes https://www.forbes.com/#56668b0d2254 ...

As a white male ally, it’s easy to make well-intentioned assumptions and remain too inside my own privileged head. Articles like this help me a lot. I still have so much to learn.    ...

Career Development/Vocation Aujla, Dev, 50 Ways to Get a Job Johnson, Whitney L.  Disrupt Yourself: Putting the Power of Disruptive Innovation to Work Pink, Daniel. A Whole New Mind Hallenbeck, George. Learning Agility Covey, Stephen R. The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People Wilber, Ken....

So many apps, so little time. Many of us download dozens of them across a year, but only a handful become fully useful on a daily basis and cut across the key spheres of physical, intellectual, emotional, and spiritual engagement. Here's three apps that have...

As I hit a "milestone" birthday this weekend, I find myself grateful for the journey so far and excited about the possibilities going forward. There's a lot of things I would do differently if I could regarding people, circumstances, and key choices. But I've learned and...

One of my core values is writing prose that echoes what human beings experience. One particular mindset that is absolutely essential to such an effort is curiosity. We have much to learn from our pets, who are constantly exemplifying curiosity to us--sometimes to a fault, especially...

Another one of my core values is learning as much as I can across disciplines, cultures, and geographies. And one of the chief ways I do that is through reading. I've read hundreds of books across my lifetime, spanning fiction and non-fiction, and have given away...