Learning

  First, thank you for visiting my blog and website! I'm grateful to have a few minutes of your attention. My intention here is to offer tips, resources, and encouragement to liberal, well-read men who want to be stronger allies to women but are unsure of where...

  One of the most important steps toward becoming an effective ally to people of color is recognizing and accepting our existing white privilege. This is not something to feel defensive or guilty about; more helpfully, it's an awareness that can cultivate gratitude and a determination...

  It's tough to sort through all the reports and sound bytes concerning climate change. Therefore, anyone who wants to make specific choices related to this issue needs objective facts and data to fall back on when emotional rhetoric makes everyone more overwhelmed and frustrated. Here's five...

These non-fiction writers and their books are worth checking out and adding to your library! Isabel Wilkerson. Wilkerson’s masterful The Warmth of Other Suns depicts the lives of a handful of African-Americans who were among the millions that migrated from the Jim Crow South to the...

9 Tips and Advice for Other Writers Read! Read with breadth and depth - Stephen King calls reading "the creative center of a writer's life" Write every day, even if it’s just in your personal journal. Daily prose evolves into prolific prose. Allow your ideas...

This fall, as the leaves change colors and eventually drop to the earth, I encourage you to spend some leisure time with three titles I’ve enjoyed reading in recent months.  Reading the Silver Screen In his new book, Thomas Foster, author of How to Read...

I’ve written and self-published six books since 2011. And while self-publishing is a constant learning journey, here are some tips based on my experiences and observations to date: Don’t invest a lot of time exploring self-publishing until you have a finished product that has been revised...

Ted Talks https://www.ted.com/talks Podcasts: Radio Lab https://www.npr.org/podcasts/452538884/radiolab TED Radio Hour https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510298/ted-radio-hour Oprah's Super Soul Conversations http://www.supersoul.tv/ The Tim Ferriss Show https://tim.blog/podcast/ Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders https://ecorner.stanford.edu/series/etl/ The Creative Exchange https://thecreativeexchange.simplecast.fm/ The Knowledge Project https://fs.blog/the-knowledge-project/ How to Be Awesome at Your Job https://awesomeatyourjob.com/podcast/ On Being https://onbeing.org/series/podcast/ Fresh Air https://www.npr.org/podcasts/381444908/fresh-air Coursera https://www.coursera.org/ HBR https://hbr.org/ Fast Company - Leadership Section https://www.fastcompany.com/leadership Forbes https://www.forbes.com/#56668b0d2254 ...

As a white male ally, it’s easy to make well-intentioned assumptions and remain too inside my own privileged head. Articles like this help me a lot. I still have so much to learn.    ...

Career Development/Vocation Aujla, Dev, 50 Ways to Get a Job Johnson, Whitney L.  Disrupt Yourself: Putting the Power of Disruptive Innovation to Work Pink, Daniel. A Whole New Mind Hallenbeck, George. Learning Agility Covey, Stephen R. The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People Wilber, Ken....